50 Shades of Beet

I have a love/hate relationship with beets.  I love to eat them, and experience their tender sweetness, but I hate cooking with them because my hands always turn purple and I’m constantly paranoid it’s going to get on my clothes.  Yes, I could wear an apron, or some gloves, but by the time I think about either of those things it’s usually too late.

But when you come across a recipe like this one, none of that matters because it just looks so delicious.

CRUSHED BEETS WITH LEMON VINAIGRETTE

The best part of this dish is that after you bake the beets to tender deliciousness, you smash them and fry them for a few minutes so the outside gets nice and crisp, and the inside stays soft. Just like you would with some smashed potatoes, except these are actually good for you (ish).

Look at these delicious beets from the farmer’s market:

IMG_6832

Aren’t they gorgeous?  After you clean them, cut off the beet greens (to make something else, those are also very good for you), it’s time to bake them.  Salt, pepper, a little oil, and wrap them in aluminum foil.

IMG_6837

Bake them at 400 degrees for 40-50 minutes and you get some beautifully perfect beets.


IMG_6850

 

Now comes the part so secret, so clandestine, that I can’t show it to you.  Or, more accurately, my hands were full and I couldn’t grab my camera.  You peel and smash the beets, then fry them in some oil.

When they’re nice and crisp, you put some plain greek yogurt on a plate, lay the crispy beets on top, and drizzle them with a lemony dressing.

IMG_6909

Then you take a bite and fall over because your mouth just exploded in ecstasy.

Personally, I’d serve this as an appetizer, or as a starter salad.  Actually, these beets would be delicious on a regular salad too.  Or even on their own as a snack.  In a nutshell, try them and you won’t be sorry.

Get the recipe from Bon Appetit: CRUSHED BEETS WITH LEMON VINAIGRETTE

One thought on “50 Shades of Beet

Leave a Reply

