I Love Greek Salad!

 

As a week of healthy eating continues, it goes without saying that salads are a healthy option. But I have a love/hate relationship with salads.  I mean, I never say I CRAVE a salad, there are just times that I feel like I should have one, because we all need to eat more vegetables.

I do, however, love a good Greek salad, and this is a super simple one that takes only a few minutes to put together. In fact, so simple that I have no excuse not to eat one more often.

As with most salads, it is the dressing that can make it or break it.  A Greek dressing should be fresh and vibrant with a little tang that makes your mouth pucker.  You’re only five ingredients away from deliciousness.

IMG_7610-1

Four ingredients, plus olive oil.

Take the juice of half a lemon, crush a clove of garlic, chop up some mint and parsley, and put it all in a jar, for easy shaking.  Add olive oil, salt, pepper, and shakeshakeshake.  DONE!
IMG_7613-1

Now that the dressing is finished, time to put some veggies on a plate.  Lettuce, tomatoes, kalamata olives, thinly sliced red onions, cucumber, and some feta cheese.  Drizzle some of that delicious dressing, and maybe add some stuffed grape leaves for show, and you have a picture perfect salad.

IMG_7618-1

BRB, I have to go eat this now.

GREEK SALAD DRESSING

3 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 garlic cloved, crushed
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh mint, chopped
salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients, whisk or shake together.

Leave a Reply

